The University of Wisconsin Colleges is a single institution made up of 13 freshman/sophomore campuses and UW Colleges Online. The institution is headed by Chancellor Cathy Sandeen, who also serves as chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Extension, and is served by a combined administrative staff that also serves UW-Extension. Each UW Colleges campus is headed by a campus executive officer / dean.