Student Governance Council

UW Colleges has a dual structure for governance. Each campus has a student government and a collegium comprised of faculty, staff, and students, but there is also a governance structure at the institutional level. At the institutional level, the University of Wisconsin Colleges Senate consists of faculty, staff, and students with the chancellor as the presiding officer.

Students have three representatives and two alternates who are elected by the SGC and sit on the UW Colleges Senate. The SGC also serves as a forum for students to represent their campuses while discussing various policies and procedures that impact the UW Colleges, as well as benefit from others’ experiences encountered at the campus level. The SGC serves as the students' voice at the institutional level.

Watch a video presentation about the SGC

2017-2018 Council Officers

Eric Yongha Hwang (University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire – Barron County)

Vice President
Kennan Rattigan (University of Wisconsin Oshkosh-UW-Fond du Lac)

Executive Director
Jesse Poppy (University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire – Barron County)

Financial Director

First Year Officer
Garrett Stolen (University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point at Wausau)

Sue Kalinka (University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee at Waukesha)

Check Back for updates from the SGC Team!